After the 8 hours bus journey from Saigon I made a quick two night stop in the city of Dalat. Just enough time to fit in a day of canyoning.

Accommodation: I stayed at the Cam Ly Homestay run by a man named Tri and his family. For two nights in the dorm I paid about $10 USD. The dorms have a unique set up in an attic like upstairs. The beds are simple mattresses on the floor each with individual clear mesh tents around. But don’t be fooled- these were the most comfortable mattresses I slept on in four weeks! It is quite a large dorm with maybe 10 or so beds but lucky for me I only shared with two others- and I had a huge corner to myself.

My first morning I woke ready for a day of canyoning. I was apprehensive to bring along no phone or camera but this is advice I am glad I took! I booked my tour through my homestay and ended up paying around $40 or so for a full day including lunch. Actually seemed a bit more reasonable than other agencies.

Upon arriving we were lucky to be one of the first groups which prevented lots of waiting around. The guides were informative, had positive attitudes and humor, and seemed to practice good safety precautions.

We started off with basic abseiling down a cement ledge- totally fine for beginners! Then we moved on to real rock faces and eventually abseiled beside a waterfall and eventually basically inside another waterfall! There was cliff jumping (7,9, and 11 meters high), river floating, and most insane going backwards sliding down a waterfall. Though it rained- it didn’t even phase us as we were too busy jumping through waterfalls anyways.

This was a huge highlight of my trip but it’s important to note that this tour did entail a good deal of physical fitness (ie ability to walk down steep stairs, uneven surfaces, and trekking all the way back up!!).

 

On my last evening I joined the other guests for a family dinner. Usually there is a fee for this but it seemed to be complimentary. We joined around the table and ate traditional Vietnamese and watched it cook in a hot pot. There was sea food, beef, chicken, soup, and spring rolls. A great way to experience the culture and make friends will fellow travelers.

family-dinner

 

